A Nice Cup of Tea

I found it odd that my ice cubes rarely looked “normal” so I decided to photograph them and share my bizarre frozen cube with you.  Enjoy~!

Shot of the ice cube that froze with a point.

Shot of the ice cube that froze with a point.

Apparently, I have hollow ice cube too!

Apparently, I have hollow ice cubes too!

It's always sad to see something melt away... unless it's to help cool your tea.

It’s always sad to see something melt away… unless it’s to help cool your tea.

Isn't it odd how it froze like that?  I'm wondering why it's doing that.

Isn’t it odd how it froze like that? I’m wondering why it’s doing that.

Just a shot of my mug.

Just a shot of my mug.

Oh my poor ice cube.

Oh my poor ice cube.  He’s melting!

The instant the cube its the water, a crack is heard.

The instant the cube hits the water, a crack is heard.

Look at how that ice cube froze.  It's quite amazing!

Look at how that ice cube froze. It’s quite amazing!

Does anyone know why my ice cubes are freezing in such a strange manner?  And I should mention that this wasn’t just a one time deal either!  It happens every time my roommate and I make ice cubes.  We both think it’s neat but we’re wondering what the science is behind it all.  We’re both sure there’s more to these strange forms than our “magical touch.”

Have any of you pulled an ice cube out like this before?  What did you think?  Were you just as baffled as we were?  Better yet, do you have any idea as to why this is happening?  Don’t look the answer up, guess first!  I’m curious to see if anyone comes up with the same guesses we did.  And if anyone has a “solution” to our “problem,” we would love to hear it (well, read it).  I’m sure we won’t go out of our way to “fix” this but it would be nice to know the process that’s going on while the freezer door is closed.

Leave a comment